Our NYC office is hiring

We’re looking for people for our Manhattan office. Sorry for being lazy, but I’ll just copy the job description here:

Junior Software Engineer(Java)

Teachscape, Inc. is looking to hire a Junior Software Engineer to work in our downtown New York office. We have a small, very experienced and talented team. We work with cutting edge technology and frameworks to deliver professional development to teachers online. This would be a great opportunity for a junior developer to learn and grow from working closely with best-practice software development and world- class Java developers.

Requirements:
* 0-3 years as a software engineer
* BS in Computer Science, or equivalent experience
* experience with server-side Java programming and related frameworks

Core Responsibilities:
* Participate in the development and maintenance of the company’s software systems
* Participate in the creation and maintenance of specifications and documentation

Additional Requirements and Responsibilities:

* Detail-oriented and thorough
* Excellent communication and interpersonal skills
* Experience with client-side web development is a plus
* Engineer will be exposed to the following technologies, any prior experience is a plus: Java, Spring, Wicket, Hibernate, MySQL, Eclipse IDE, Jetty, J2ME, Adobe Flex, Maven, Subversion, Linux, Apache

We’re hoping to get some reactions. We have an interesting team and some very interesting things to build. Please drop me a line if you’re interested or you know someone who might be!

It’s also on DICE.

10 thoughts on “Our NYC office is hiring

  1. sbelur says:

    Eelco,

    Just curious – saw this reqt -Adobe Flex

    Are u using flex with wicket some how or some stand alone piece
    interacting with server w/o wicket ?

    I am interested because, client of my project want to integrate our server side
    code with laszlo . Right now its in wicket.

    -swaroop belur

  2. Hi Swaroop,

    The flex part we are using is an independent function, though it is integrated in the web site, and uses e.g. the Wicket session etc.

  3. Tim O'Brien says:

    Eelco, good luck, that looks like an almost impossible set of requirements to satisfy. By the time someone gets “Java, Spring, Wicket, Hibernate, MySQL, Eclipse IDE, Jetty, J2ME, Adobe Flex, Maven, Subversion, Linux, Apache” they will probably be senior.

    On the Flex question, has anyone done any work with Wicket Flex sites. Any guidance you can provide.

  4. Hi Tim,

    Note that it is not a requirement to know these technologies:

    “Engineer will be exposed to the following technologies, any prior experience is a plus:”…

    So it would be nice if the candidate has heard of (some of) them and knows a bit about what kind of problems these technologies are supposed to solve. If not, no problem. :-)

    On Flex… we’re using Flex for part of our site. We don’t integrate much further than letting it access the Wicket session at this time. We might integrate further at some later time (and we’re also interested in looking at Adobe AIR for instance), but right now, I’m afraid I don’t have much to say about it.

  5. swaroop belur says:

    Eelco,

    As part of an exercise learning laszlo , I wanted to integrate some
    simple stuff like laszlo textfields for example with wicket models. Unfortunately laszlo file doesnt even allow us to write wicket:id …Think it considers it as namespace and strips namespace. Also there was compile error for wicket:id -:(
    So looks like integrating these 2 is impossible..Unless wicket gives
    us hook to configure wicket:id to something else like wicket-id for eg.

    -swaroop

  6. Hmmm. If this is something laszlo really doesn’t allow, I’d take it to the developer list so that we can discuss what can be done about this.

  7. Shailesh says:

    Although posting at wrong place, but this is the only latest post I found on this site; so I hope to get reply.
    First of all I am Struts guy (now) and coded in Swing in the past. From my days of Swing I always wanted to have something similar to ‘Wicket’. I keep my eye on ‘Wicket’ tried it but never used it professionally :(.
    Now I see even Ruby on Rails as complete solution from persistence to web-service to simple web site development, ajax support and good support base and plugins.
    I see Ruby on Rails is winner when you want stuff to be done faster, easier. It is also Object oriented and plus point it is interpreted.
    Could you please comment on this because I am missing coding in Java (obviously) and Ruby is very cryptic; I started with RoR already but just wanted to see their comparison and which one is better. I see Wicket also have Ajax support rather unusual way…any comments!

  8. @Shallesh

    You can search Wicket’s mailing list archives for various discussions on pros and cons regarding competing frameworks, I think including RoR here and there.

    Personally, the features that most people seem to like about RoR are not that high on my list. I find Ruby an OK language to work with, though I must admit that I’m only using it for the odd script here and there, but I have languages like Erlang, Haskell and Scala for instance much higher on my list of things to dive into.

    Things that are important for me personally with Wicket are:
    * A clean programming model where manipulation takes place using a proper programing language and templating is void of that (RoR obviously doesn’t satisfy my needs here)
    * State management. I’ve spend years passing parameters in links and I’m done with that. It kills all opportunity you have for scoping and is a recipe for spaghetti code. Please let a framework take care for maintaining e.g. the selected tab in a page. If you’re going Java all the way/ use a single page approach, this argument loses some of it’s relevance.
    * Reusable components. No competitor even comes close to how Wicket supports this. Wicket components are stateful and completely self contained. They can contribute things like Javascript and CSS to the header section of pages, walk the component hierarchy up and down, and independently receive messages, whether through Ajax or normal requests. As their API is plainly a Java class, their usage and extensibility is easy discover.

    I can make this list longer, but really the thing I’m after is to have a framework that helps me create maintainable code. I know that you’ll be quicker churning out a RoR application initially, but that same application build with Wicket will probably be easier to maintain and scale for development (add more developers, break up tasks, etc).

    Google for more :-)

  9. popovici says:

    Do I have to be from US citizen ?

  10. Yep. We’re already done hiring though :-)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

