Pre Print “Programming in Scala” available

For all of you following Scala, the first real book is out now! I just bought/ downloaded it, and it looks good. You can get it on the Artima website. Where do I get some time to actually read it. :-)

If you have plans to dive into Scala and you are new to Functional Programming (like I am), I’d recommend you to also learn Haskell to get a good foundation. At least I found that when reading Programming In Haskell, some Scala constructs started to make more sense to me.

3 thoughts on “Pre Print “Programming in Scala” available

  1. swaroop belur says:

    Eelco,

    Scala fever is indeed catching on. Is there any work going on to write
    some part of wicket in scala ? Just wondering if there is any serious
    thoughts in scala direction. Especially given the fact that scala
    concurrency offers much more potential than java threads…

    -swaroop

  2. Hi Swaroop,

    I don’t think we are going to write part of Wicket in Scala any time soon because Scala has enough tools (compatibility with Java and implicit conversions particularly) to use Wicket in a Scala kind of way. Also, I don’t think Actors would really change how we do things in Wicket.

    The good news is that you can use Scala + Wicket right now and enjoy a richer programming model. See for instance http://technically.us/code/x/the-awesomeness-of-scala-is-implicit/ where the nice part imho is the implicit model conversion (so that you can pass in functions instead of IModel instances). There are probably plenty of neat little tricks you could do with Scala + Wicket.

    I wish Scala’s tool support was better. If it were, I might be able to sell Scala to my team mates, and I might be more productive with Scala than with Java. My little Eclipse adventure described here: http://chillenious.wordpress.com/2007/12/23/and-finally-here-is-a-new-eclipse-jetty-plugin/, was actually to get warmed up a bit again in writing Eclipse plugins. At the same time I was doing that, I dug through the JDT and current Scala Eclipse plugin to see whether it was feasible to start a new initiative myself. But I’ve concluded that this is way too much work to do for free. It’s probably a couple of man years of work to create something decent.

  3. Mike says:

    Have a look at the NetBeans plugin, it’s new and advanced beyond the currently released Eclipse plugin, and it’s currently rapidly advancing.

    http://blogtrader.net/page/dcaoyuan/category/NetBeans

    From what I’ve read about Caoyuan’s and Sean’s work, it seems that the NetBeans support for non-Java plugins is a better foundation than Eclipse’s

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

