And finally, here is a new Eclipse/ Jetty plugin

No, I didn’t have time for this. But I just couldn’t help myself, really. I took another shot at an Eclipse/ Jetty plugin.

Out of annoyance with another Eclipse plugin (unrelated to Jetty, and I won’t mention which one), I realized how annoying it must have been for the users of JettyLauncher to not have had any updates the last, what, two years? The thing basically didn’t work for any recent JDK/ Jetty/ Eclipse version. Maintaining it just wasn’t a priority for me (it still isn’t, frankly), and I hoped one of the new guys of the project would pick it up and release something workable. That never happened, and I wasn’t happy with how the plugin was setup in the first place.

So… the feeling of guilt finally took over and I coded a new Eclipse plugin for running web applications with Jetty today. The difference with JettyLauncher is that this plugin is more limited – yes, I consider that to be a good thing, as it is simpler to maintain – and that it ships with Jetty (6.1.6 currently). You can find the project here. I’m back to writing Wicket In Action again now :-)

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “And finally, here is a new Eclipse/ Jetty plugin

  1. Per Ejeklint says:

    Thanks Eelco, very nice! It runs just fine and fits my way of working very well. One little error though: the Getting Started page has wrong URL for the update site, you need to add “/updatesite” to it.

    My best wishes for a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  2. Ah. Cheers, I’ll fix it right away. You have good days and a happy New Year yourself!

  3. Gabriel says:

    Nice! Thanks a lot!

  4. Excellent, will definitely check it out.

  5. Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!

  6. It’s simple to use and all I need. I’ve never felt very comfortable with the more advanced plug-ins because they always do things that I dislike. And for me the best, it perfectly works with the Cocoon Maven 2 plugin (http://cocoon.apache.org/2.2/maven-plugins/maven-plugin/1.0/1295_1_1.html).

    That was really a nice Christmas present! Thanks!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

